The Silence Kit

The Silence Kit is a Philadelphia-based post-punk band that plays dark indie rock. Inspired in equal parts by post punk, shoegaze, neo-psychedelia, and avant-garde, the band was started by singer/guitarist Patrick McCay back in 2001. After 4 LPs and 2 EPs from 2006-2014, McCay was joined by Darren O'Toole and Justin Dushkewich on drums and bass in 2014. The band's fifth LP "Fall Protection" was released on October 26, 2018 and was an exclusive feature at Big Takeover.

Critics have hailed "Fall Protection" as "magnificent and breathtaking," with "complex, layered jangly guitars, moody psychedelic synths, thunderous percussion and raw, passionate vocals," and have called it "ripe with introspection and angst, not to mention sheer bewilderment, Fall Protection morphs a platter of diverse genres... recalling the spirit of ’80s-era post-punk filtered through the dreamy textures and swirling, layered guitars of ’90s shoegaze and indie rock."

As of 2022, The Silence Kit is currently completing their sixth LP, with a projected release date of late 2022.

Listen to other recent releases on bandcamp.